Home > Advocacy, Health, In Memoriam > License to Save Lives

License to Save Lives

This month is National Donate Life Month.

“Good looking out, Sis.” I loved hearing my brother say those words. He always appreciated people looking out for each other, and for me it was one of the greatest compliments he could ever give. It is also one I will never hear again.

My brother went into a coma after a fall and eventually passed away.

My family did discuss organ donation, so we knew my brother’s wishes; however, due to the circumstances of his death, I did not think my parents could handle the process. Surprisingly, they were stronger than I imagined, and my brother eventually became an organ donor.

At the time, my brother was not officially on the donor registry, so my parents had to go through a check list of organs that could be donated. This process was very difficult for them.

By enrolling in the New York State Donate Life Registry, you can save a life and spare your family the anguish of the decision.

This month is National Donate Life Month, and the New York Organ Donor Network is working with the Department of Motor Vehicles for a Donor Registry Drive. You can sign up at the DMV or online through the New York Organ Donor Network: Register and Save Lives

Thank you, and on behalf of my brother “good looking out.”

“Good Looking Out…”

-Jimmy French Jr.

  1. April 29, 2012 at 10:57 am

    The Donate Life American Registry is available here: http://donatelife.net/register-now/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

