Home > Advocacy, Help, Volunteer > “I’ve been down here before and I know the way out.”

“I’ve been down here before and I know the way out.”

Photo credit to Google Free Images

It has long been a passion of mine to help others.  It’s the main reason I went to college, and chose to work as an Ombudsman and eventually a Community Liaison.  Now, to tell you the truth I am more of an Advocate than a Liaison, and this is what has brought me to write to you today.  I will continue to update our community with information I find useful, but I also want to help others whenever possible.  So if you have an issue or concern, and you have been unable to make headway thus far please let me know.  No one knows all the answers, but sometimes others have fresh insight and I hope this will be the case for those of you who need assistance.

I will respond to all emails directly, and if I feel the subject is appropriate to help others I will post the issue on this site while keeping your identity anonymous.  Please email your concerns to: communityliaison@gmail.com, or if you wish leave a comment or question in response to this entry.

Normally, I end with a wee quote, but today I am reminded of a story line from The West Wing which I would like to share:

This guy’s walkin’ down a street when he falls in a hole. The walls are so steep he can’t get out. A doctor passes by and the guy shouts up, “Hey you! Can you help me out?” The doctor writes a prescription, throws it down in the hole, and moves on. Then a priest comes along and the guy shouts up, “Father, I’m down in this hole; can you help me out?” The priest writes out a prayer, throws it down in the hole and moves on. Then a friend walks by. “Hey, Joe, it’s me. Can ya help me out?” And the friend jumps in the hole. Our guy says, “Are ya stupid? Now we’re both down here.” The friend says, “Yeah, but I’ve been down here before and I know the way out.” – Leo McGarry, Character on The West Wing

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

