Home > Identity Theft, Money, Taxes > Free Money, Back Taxes and Phishing…Oh My!

Free Money, Back Taxes and Phishing…Oh My!

Photo credit to Google Free Images

Well, it’s that time of year again, and I’ve noticed an uptick in a couple of beneficial programs as well as a warning regarding phishing so I thought I would share them with you.  First off, we have a tax refund alert for those who did not file in 2008; in addition, there is free money for those who will save their tax refunds, and lastly a reminder to not fall prey to an IRS phishing scam.

IRS 2008 Tax Refund alert: calling all low wage earners from 2008 who didn’t make enough to file their taxes, but paid taxes throughout the year.  You can still claim your tax refund by April 17, 2012; if not, it goes back to the US Treasury.  For further information, please check out this article from ABC World News Tonight.

Free Money Newsflash:

New York City’s SaveUSA program offers an incentive to save at tax time. At select Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) sites throughout the City, you may have the opportunity to open a SaveUSA account when you file your taxes. Save at least $200 of your refund for a year and earn 50 cents for every $1 you save. Save $1,000 for the maximum $500 match.”

And it appears this program is getting around so check with your local tax representative for further information:

“Residents who save part of their 2010 tax refund for a year will get a 50 percent match for every dollar saved up to $1,000. The program, “Save USA,” operates in New York and is expanding into Newark, San Antonio and Tulsa, Okla.”

Now that you have ways to make money, please don’t fall prey to scam artists who are phishing for your green!  If you receive an email or text in regards to your refund delete it!  The IRS never emails or texts.  For more information, the IRS released the “Dirty Dozen Tax Scams for 2012.”  Believe it or not, the IRS tax site has great information including tax advocacy, local offices, and how to file for free.

I hope this information proves useful, and your refund is all you expected it to be and then some!

Let me tell you how it will be
There’s one for you, nineteen for me
‘Cause I’m the taxman, yeah, I’m the taxman

Should five per cent appear too small
Be thankful I don’t take it all
‘Cause I’m the taxman, yeah I’m the taxman

If you drive a car, I’ll tax the street,
If you try to sit, I’ll tax your seat.
If you get too cold I’ll tax the heat,
If you take a walk, I’ll tax your feet.

Don’t ask me what I want it for
If you don’t want to pay some more
‘Cause I’m the taxman, yeah, I’m the taxman

Now my advice for those who die
Declare the pennies on your eyes
‘Cause I’m the taxman, yeah, I’m the taxman
And you’re working for no one but me.

-George Harrison

  1. March 26, 2012 at 7:48 am

    Also, many can e-file taxes for free, but make sure your choice covers your federal and your state so you won’t have to file twice. Any questions, please feel free to ask!

    http://www.irs.gov/efile/article/0,,id=118986,00.html

  2. February 25, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    You may wish to pass this information onto the Seniors in your lives especially those who are just becoming familiar with the internet and may not be aware of phishing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

