Home > Advocacy, Communities, Health, Help > Great Strides in Parkinson’s Therapy

Great Strides in Parkinson’s Therapy

Photo credit to Google Free Images

Last  month, the United States Senate declared April: Parkinson’s Disease Awareness Month, and organizations including the Michael J Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research, the Parkinson’s Disease Foundation and a host of others listed here in the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke were able to receive a much needed boost in getting the word out about Parkinson’s Disease (PD).

For those who are not familiar with the particulars of this dreaded disease the Parkinson’s Disease Foundation offers a fact sheet; and for those of you who are all too familiar with the disease from your own struggle, or you know family or friends who have it – then you know the battle and the need for hope.

In the past few weeks, a family member of mine found this hope in the form of physical and speech therapy. Obviously, this is not a cure, however it is amazing to me the change that is occurring to him.  After a chat about his day, I noticed he was much more excited and vocal than usual.  He spoke about exercising in a bike-like contraption with a monitor overlooking him which offered views of Switzerland.  I was later told this is Giger MD Therapy.  I was incredibly impressed by not only the way he felt after his morning of biking, but how great our conversation went that evening.  In the past, he was too tired or just not feeling up for a good old yap.  It was then the plot thickened, and I found out about Lee Silverman Voice Treatment (LSVT).  In short, these two methods made a change I never thought could happen; as many know, PD patients do not usually get better since it’s a disease that just takes away a little or a lot each and every day.  It doesn’t happen often you have the chance to share good news, and so I pass onto you hope for you and your loved one.  Please share this hope.

For everything this disease has taken, something with greater value has been given–sometimes just a marker that points me in a new direction that I might not otherwise have traveled. So, sure, it may be one step forward and two steps back, but after a time with Parkinson’s, I’ve learned that what is important is making that one step count; always looking up.

Michael J. Fox, Always Looking Up

  1. May 5, 2013 at 10:52 am

    Thank you so much for your comments! I’m on facebook as well, and I wish you all the best!

  2. May 5, 2013 at 10:43 am

    Thank you for this valuable information. I’m trying to connect and share health related info since my area of business is selling products to help with your body, mind and spirit at http:profsanchezholistichealing.com

    I recently ran across you on Link-In and have shared your page. I hope you can share my page and give it a like on facebook at http://www.facebook.com/sanchezholisticproducts

    Thanks, I will be following you on twitter also. Great info!

  3. May 28, 2012 at 12:01 pm

    That is a great motto, Jo, and so true! It is such a debilitating disease, and if you don’t keep positive and fight it can consume you. You must be an extremely strong person; I know my father who battles PD is the strongest person I know! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment, and share your inspiration.

  4. May 24, 2012 at 9:54 pm

    I have parkinson’s and my motto is move it or loose it. If I do not walk for 30 minutes every day I feel fatigue and it takes longer to accomplish what I need to do. Glad your family member found out about exercise. Another thing to keep in mind is to stay away from negative people. They will suck the life out of you.

    Keep a postive attitude things are looking up 🙂

  5. May 8, 2012 at 11:04 am

    Thank you for your comments; I appreciate the feedback, and hope the information is helpful.

  6. May 8, 2012 at 5:25 am

    How-do-you-do, just needed you to know I’ve added your website to my Google bookmarks because of your extraordinary weblog layout. But seriously, I think your web site has among the freshest theme I’ve came across. It actually helps make reading your blog a great deal easier.

  7. May 7, 2012 at 6:30 am

    Excellent goods on your part, man. Ive understand your stuff previous to and youre just extremely excellent. I really like everything you have acquired here, certainly like what youre stating and the way in which you say it. You will be making it enjoyable but you just nurture to prevent it smart. I cannot wait to see considerably more from you. This is actually an enormous site.

  8. May 2, 2012 at 5:28 pm

    Great to know, and thank you!

  9. May 2, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    This blog has absolutely changed my perspective on this subject. Theres no way I wouldve thought about it this way if I hadnt come across your weblog. All I was doing was cruising the web and I found your blog and all of a sudden my views have changed. Excellent on you, man!

  10. May 1, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    Thank you so much for your kind words; I was amazed by how many “hits” this entry received. Over 200 at last count! Obviously, it’s a topic that hits close to home for many.

  11. May 1, 2012 at 10:15 am

    Youre so right. Im there with you. Your blog is undoubtedly worth a read if everyone comes across it. Im lucky I did due to the fact now Ive got a whole new view of this. I didnt realise that this problem was so essential and so universal. You absolutely put it in perspective for me.

  12. April 29, 2012 at 9:05 am

    Thanks so much for the trackback, and spreading the news!

  1. April 28, 2012 at 9:27 pm

Leave a Reply

