Home > Advocacy, Communities, Gun Laws, Laws > Call to Action: Anti-Gun Activists and Responsible Gun Owners

Call to Action: Anti-Gun Activists and Responsible Gun Owners

M.Wuerker Politico

Who will be killed by gun violence today, tomorrow, the next day and days to come? Will it be you, your child, neighbors, family or strangers? Will their death/s mean something to you, or will it just be another person who lost their life to gun violence? As of this morning,  the death count since Newtown is approximately 1,435 souls.  How many more will be added to the list by the time you finish reading this post?

I ask that you become a part of the solution whether you are an anti-gun activist or a responsible gun owner; please help by contacting your elected officials to support gun control and help to ensure the safety of our children, our neighbors, and our families.

“Speaking is difficult, but I need to say something important. Violence is a big problem. Too many children are dying — too many children. We must do something.” – Former Rep. Gabrielle Giffords, a shooting survivor, today before the Senate Judiciary Committee hearing on gun control.

  1. January 30, 2013 at 2:04 pm

    Thank you for your opinion. It is my hope, it will inspire others to continue to petition our elected officials for all Americans to live free from the threat of gun violence.

  2. January 30, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    “I did not lie. There is a major difference between guns and semi-automatic firearms and high capacity magazines.”
    You specifically did. You said no one was coming for my guns. I own several semi-automatic firearms with standard capacity magazines and they would be specifically banned. Those are my guns, the bill bans my guns, I cannot transfer or sell them to anyone and when I die I cannot pass them down to my children so they have to be turned into the state. They have to be taken.
    “I do not see any need for anyone to have semi-automatic firearms and high capacity magazines”
    That’s not my problem. My firearms are guaranteed to me by the second amendment. They are common use (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/District_of_Columbia_v._Heller) and any attempt to infringe upon them would be going against the 2nd Amendment and the supreme court ruling.
    “Personally, I believe our citizens’ right to live without infringement on that right trumps your alleged right to start a well armed militia.”
    The militia argument is dead and gone. ‘Well regulated’ meant well trained and proficient in the use of arms, militia included ALL males (but lets be egalitarian and say females as well) 18-45. If you read the Constitution, you would know this as it is defined there. The ‘militia’ is the specific qualifier in that sentence, THE PEOPLE is the general qualifier of all those who should be allowed to own firearms, hence, everyone should have the right to own firearms (that’s been modified now so that criminals and insane people cannot, which is completely reasonable).
    You have a right to live your life the way you want to, you don’t have the right to tell me how to live mine. My guns will never be used to harm you, I cannot control a criminal, but I can stop him with my guns. If you choose to be a victim, that’s your choice and I am not about to tell you to change your mind. If you want to live in a place with no guns, you are in the wrong country.

  3. January 30, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    I did not lie. There is a major difference between guns and semi-automatic firearms and high capacity magazines. It’s obvious we are on completely different ends of the spectrum on this issue as I do not see any need for anyone to have semi-automatic firearms and high capacity magazines while you see this as an infringement on your rights. Personally, I believe our citizens’ right to live without infringement on that right trumps your alleged right to start a well armed militia.

  4. January 30, 2013 at 1:34 pm

    “In addition, no one is attempting to take guns from law abiding citizens.”
    That is an absolute lie. The AWB bill seeks to do exactly that. No transfer or sales after enacted of currently owned semi-automatic firearms that fit the ‘criteria’, no purchase, sales or transfer of ‘high capacity magazines’. It’s in the bill. Don’t tell me no one is coming to take my guns. Those are mine and millions of other American’s guns and we will not reconsider our civil rights. You can disagree with peer reviewed statistics all you want: http://www.guncite.com/gun_control_gcdguse.html
    but that doesn’t stop them from being real.

  5. January 30, 2013 at 1:29 pm

    savage1r :

    I guarantee you, the more people you disarm, the body count will rise (Chicago/NY/etc). For every crime committed with a gun, 80 are prevented by one. So, I guess if you want there to be more victims, keep doing what you’re doing

    I respectfully disagree with your opinion and your statistics. In addition, no one is attempting to take guns from law abiding citizens. Please reconsider your stance, thank you.

  6. January 30, 2013 at 1:24 pm

    I guarantee you, the more people you disarm, the body count will rise (Chicago/NY/etc). For every crime committed with a gun, 80 are prevented by one. So, I guess if you want there to be more victims, keep doing what you’re doing

  7. January 30, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    Please share if you care, and thank you for your support.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

