Home > In Memoriam > No Finer Man

No Finer Man

A174456

Two weeks ago tonight, my father broke free of the pain he encountered in this world and returned home. I prayed he would be released but didn’t want to let him go. Now life goes on without him by our side, and I don’t know how or why. I do know the outpouring of love for my father and my family is what sustains us through this more than difficult time and that one day we will all be together again.

In memory of my father, Jimmy French, who passed on Valentine’s Eve. We sang The Parting Glass at his mass, and then again with all our family in a night of songs that my Pa loves. Love you, Pa. xoxo

Oh all the money that ere I spent, I spent it in good company.
And all the harm that ere I’ve done, alas it was to none but me.
And all I’ve done for want of wit, to memory now I can’t recall.
So fill to me the parting glass. Goodnight and joy be with you all.

Oh all the comrades that ere I had, are sorry for my going away,
And all the sweethearts that ere I had, would wish me one more day to stay,
But since it falls unto my lot that I should rise and you should not,

I’ll gently rise and I’ll softly call, Goodnight and joy be with you all.

God bless.”

RIP Pa xoxo

Categories: In Memoriam
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

